Uploaded image for project: 'Alfresco'
  1. Alfresco
  2. ALF-21827

Site Coordinador role cannot be unassigned inside a Site

    Details

    • Type: Documentation
    • Status: Closed (View Workflow)
    • Priority: Unprioritized
    • Resolution: Won't Do
    • Affects Version/s: 5.0, 5.1
    • Fix Version/s: None
    • Component/s: Share Application
    • Security Level: external (External user)
    • Labels:
      None

      Description

      Since 5.0 release, Site Coordinador role cannot be unassigned inside a Site:

      These change breaks previous developments and customisations.

      IMO there is no real motivation to forbid this configuration, as read-only folders for every user in a Site are a common way to provide fixed hierarchy at the first levels.

        Attachments

          Issue Links

            Activity

            Hide
            resplin Richard Esplin added a comment -

            John Knowles: Is there a better way to meet the use case described by Angel, or is this a bug that should be fixed?

            Show
            resplin Richard Esplin added a comment - John Knowles : Is there a better way to meet the use case described by Angel, or is this a bug that should be fixed?
            Hide
            jknowles John Knowles added a comment -

            If no one is a Site Manager then the control of the site is lost without intervention from a full system administrator; changing this could result in extra burden on a system administrator when users get permissions wrong.

            Show
            jknowles John Knowles added a comment - If no one is a Site Manager then the control of the site is lost without intervention from a full system administrator; changing this could result in extra burden on a system administrator when users get permissions wrong.
            Hide
            angel.borroy Angel Borroy added a comment - - edited

            This is the best way to loose functionality from Alfresco: deciding what is better for users / developers by restricting options.

            I completely disagree with that "won't fix".

            Show
            angel.borroy Angel Borroy added a comment - - edited This is the best way to loose functionality from Alfresco: deciding what is better for users / developers by restricting options. I completely disagree with that "won't fix".
            Hide
            angel.borroy Angel Borroy added a comment -

            John Knowles: can you provide me an alternative for my use case?

            How can be fixed initial folders hierarchy for every user (including Site Managers) on a site?

            Show
            angel.borroy Angel Borroy added a comment - John Knowles: can you provide me an alternative for my use case? How can be fixed initial folders hierarchy for every user (including Site Managers) on a site?
            Hide
            jknowles John Knowles added a comment -

            Please can you provide more information about the use case to help me understand what problem you are trying to solve.

            Show
            jknowles John Knowles added a comment - Please can you provide more information about the use case to help me understand what problem you are trying to solve.
            Hide
            angel.borroy Angel Borroy added a comment - - edited

            We have a client using Alfresco from 2011.

            They have defined a hierarchical organisation for archiving purposes which is including processes, subprocesses and series. Archive is a department responsible to maintain this classification.

            On the other hand, they have other departments working which are producers of documents to be classified into this hierarchy.

            So, once a Site is created, root process or root subprocess is selected and initial folder hierarchy is created automatically (subprocesses, series...). As none of the users working on that site collaborates in Archive classification, this folders have only Consumer permissions for every one (including Site Coordinators). Hence, every document dropped in a folder in this hierarchy is classified and can be transfer to Archive without requiring form interactions.

            The main problem is that our client is using Alfresco from 4.0.d and with the last migration to 5.1.g, they feel that they have lose functionalities.

            Thanks for your time.

            Show
            angel.borroy Angel Borroy added a comment - - edited We have a client using Alfresco from 2011. They have defined a hierarchical organisation for archiving purposes which is including processes, subprocesses and series. Archive is a department responsible to maintain this classification. On the other hand, they have other departments working which are producers of documents to be classified into this hierarchy. So, once a Site is created, root process or root subprocess is selected and initial folder hierarchy is created automatically (subprocesses, series...). As none of the users working on that site collaborates in Archive classification, this folders have only Consumer permissions for every one (including Site Coordinators). Hence, every document dropped in a folder in this hierarchy is classified and can be transfer to Archive without requiring form interactions. The main problem is that our client is using Alfresco from 4.0.d and with the last migration to 5.1.g, they feel that they have lose functionalities. Thanks for your time.
            Hide
            jknowles John Knowles added a comment -

            Hi Angel,

            The behaviour you have described I have discovered is intentional. A change was made some time ago which means we now ensure that out of the box a Site Manager must retain that role for all the content in their site.

            I would suggest looking into creating a custom site manager role that suits you specific use case; a bit of quick digging has turned up these links which you may find useful:

            Show
            jknowles John Knowles added a comment - Hi Angel, The behaviour you have described I have discovered is intentional. A change was made some time ago which means we now ensure that out of the box a Site Manager must retain that role for all the content in their site. I would suggest looking into creating a custom site manager role that suits you specific use case; a bit of quick digging has turned up these links which you may find useful: http://docs.alfresco.com/5.2/references/dev-extension-points-permissions.html http://www.curiousnerd.me/alfresco-schema-validation-on-permissiondefinitions-xml
            Hide
            angel.borroy Angel Borroy added a comment -

            Thanks for your time. I know that is intentional, but it's not a change in the right direction. At least for a client which has been using previous feature for 4 years.

            BTW, creating a custom role in Alfresco is not a simple development task. Maybe there are only 3 o 4 guys in the world able to be develop this extension properly...

            Show
            angel.borroy Angel Borroy added a comment - Thanks for your time. I know that is intentional, but it's not a change in the right direction. At least for a client which has been using previous feature for 4 years. BTW, creating a custom role in Alfresco is not a simple development task. Maybe there are only 3 o 4 guys in the world able to be develop this extension properly...

              People

              • Assignee:
                closedissues Closed Issues
                Reporter:
                angel.borroy Angel Borroy
              • Votes:
                0 Vote for this issue
                Watchers:
                4 Start watching this issue

                Dates

                • Created:
                  Updated:
                  Resolved:
                  Date of First Response: