[ACE-1516] Determine behaviour of hybrid sync when a network is downgraded to a free network Created: 13-Sep-13  Updated: 10-Mar-16  Resolved: 10-Mar-16

Status: Closed
Project: Alfresco One Platform
Component/s: Synchronisation (Enterprise to Cloud)
Affects Version/s: Cloud 34
Fix Version/s: None

Type: Feature Priority: Blocker
Reporter: Alfresco QA Team (Inactive) Assignee: Closed Issues
Resolution: Won't Fix Votes: 1
Labels: Hybrid_Sync
Remaining Estimate: Not Specified
Time Spent: Not Specified
Original Estimate: Not Specified
Environment:

Cloud2 - myAlfresco-4.2 - b128 (cloud2-postconvergence config);
Alfresco Enterprise v4.2.0 HEAD b1476


Issue Links:
Related
is related to by ACE-2254 Hybrid sync - missing use cases. Closed
is related to by ACE-1509 Hybrid Sync Technical Debt Closed
Epic Link: Cloud Sync V2

 Description   
  • Create some networks and upgrade its to any premium network:
  1. 102: Customer Network - STD (standart)
  2. 1000: enterprise network
  • Check the ability of sync content for these network in On-Premise --> Content was synced successfully;
  • Then downgrade these networks to Free --> the networks were downgraded, Account Type: Free Network (0) in Account Settings;
  • Now check the ability of sync for downgraded networks clicking Sync to Cloud action for any content -->

Result: Sync was created;

Expected: The window Sync <file_name> To The Cloud should not be opened, No network is enabled for sync message should be displayed;

EugeneS



 Comments   
Comment by Mark Rogers [X] (Inactive) [ 17-Sep-13 ]

To my knowledge the "downgrade network" functionality has not been considered as a requirement, designed or implemented. It should be part of the "sync admin console" that may be included in "Phase 2" of hybrid sync.

What I'd expect on the current system is that existing sync sets will continue to sync but new ones cannot be created. I think that's what's been observed by the tester.

This is clearly something that needs to be considered for a future release of alfresco.

Comment by Seng Liaw [ 26-Mar-14 ]

Hi can someone confirm if this has already been fixed in release 33 ?

my customer is seeing the same exception message when he tried to sync content to cloud on 4.2.1 while his Cloud subscription is set to "Free Network".

Comment by Mark Rogers [X] (Inactive) [ 26-Mar-14 ]

No it has **NOT** been fixed in release 33.

Seng Law, The description does not mention an "exception message" so what do you mean by "the same exception message"

This issue is still "Unassigned" I'm going to assign to Brian so it gets looked at.

Comment by Mark Rogers [X] (Inactive) [ 26-Mar-14 ]

Please triage this issue. Should it be moved to the ACE project? Should the project managers be asked to define the expected functionality since obviously operationally networks can be downgraded.

Comment by Mark Rogers [X] (Inactive) [ 24-Apr-14 ]

I've moved this to the ACE project (It was formerly being ignored in the CLOUD project in JIRA.)

I presume that operationally we downgrade users if they do not renew their subscription.

What is the expected behaviour? Should they continue to sync or not?

Should they be able to create new sync sets?

Is there any cleanup of formerly synced files?

Comment by Gabriele Columbro [X] (Inactive) [ 20-Mar-15 ]

As part of our triaging of all Hybrid Sync issues (see this filter), this is deemed to be:

  • low risk (no data loss)
  • high likelihood of occurrence
  • low cost of implementation.

We'd need to do work on this one and:
1. based on the current pricing / licensing model, should free networks be hybrid sync / enabled?
2. Cleanup of existing sync sets?

1.

Comment by Richard Esplin [X] (Inactive) [ 10-Mar-16 ]

Since we eliminated the Free Network tier of cloud users, this issue is no longer valid.

Generated at Thu Jul 09 09:25:10 BST 2020 using JIRA 7.6.3#76005-sha1:8a4e38d34af948780dbf52044e7aafb13a7cae58.